Crowdfunding platform

Crowd2Fund Review 2026

No rating yet No rating yet No rating yet No rating yet No rating yet
0
Leave review
UK peer-to-business lending platform since 2013, authorised by the FCA: lend to small businesses from £100 in an Innovative Finance ISA. Advertises 12% to 18% before fees and bad debt; 8.68% of loans have been written off (October 2026).

Crowd2Fund - Risk and return review

Risk Level
Very High
Higher means more risk. 8.68% of loans have been written off (October 2026) and 12.4% of money lent was in default in April 2025, up from 10.8%. On top of that, the platform's own figures are undated and contradict each other, its 2026 outcomes statement is overdue, and the operator's auditor flagged doubts about whether the company can keep going.
Return Level
High
11.91% a year in the platform's own model for 2025 loans, after its 1% fee but before bad debt (December 2025). No return after losses is published.
Risk Return Level
Bad
A high return on paper, but it is measured before bad debt, and write-offs have already taken a large share of the interest earned. Very high risk outweighs the high return.

Crowd2Fund - Returns and loss rates

Returns
Fixed interest: 11.91% Platform's own model: what an investor who lent to every loan made in 2025 would earn a year, after the 1% fee but before any bad debt (published 22 December 2025). Not a realised return. Advertised range 12% to 18% before fees and bad debt (October 2026); no return after losses is published.
Loss Rates
Realised losses (written off): 8.68% Share of loans written off, from the counter on the statistics page read in October 2026 (undated; base not stated, most likely all money lent). Excludes money paid back to investors later. It was 7.4% of £49.5 million lent in the year to April 2025.
Default rate: 12.40% Share of all money lent in default (£6.14 million of £49.5 million) at 30 April 2025, from the yearly outcomes statement. Default means more than 90 days late or insolvency (180 days for property-secured loans). Up from 10.8% a year earlier; 12.1% expected for April 2026.

Crowd2Fund – Platform statistics 2026

Information updated at: 03 Nov 2026
901 projects funded
61.2M EUR funded amount

Crowd2Fund – Pros & Cons

PROS
Authorised by the UK Financial Conduct Authority (firm reference 623683) and running since 2013, with £51.00 million lent through 901 loans (October 2026).
Publishes yearly outcomes statements for 2020 to 2025 with a clear default definition: more than 90 days late or insolvency.
Innovative Finance ISA from £100, automatic lending, and free deposits by card or bank transfer.
Its own model puts 2025 loans at 11.91% a year after the 1% fee, before losses (December 2025).
CONS
12.4% of all money lent was in default in April 2025 (up from 10.8% a year earlier), and 8.68% of loans have been written off (October 2026).
Audited accounts to 30 April 2025 show a £1.16 million loss, net liabilities of £2,422,121 and an auditor's going-concern warning; the company relies on its main shareholder's support and on turning a £2.74 million loan into shares, not yet done, and £408,000 owed by the founder and his company was written off after the year end.
The statistics page is undated and its 5.20% default figure contradicts the 12.4% in the official statement; the April 2026 outcomes statement was still missing in late October 2026.
The Exchange showed no loans for sale on 23 August 2026, and only on-time loans graded A to C may be listed.
No buyback, reserve fund or insurance, no published recovery rate, and no compensation scheme cover.
Public review score 3.5 out of 5 (208 reviews), with complaints about defaults and slow recoveries.

About Crowd2Fund

What it is

Crowd2Fund is a small UK peer-to-business lending platform. Private investors lend to established British small and medium-sized businesses, mostly through an Innovative Finance ISA. It is run by Crowd2Fund Limited in London, set up in 2013. Its statistics page shows £51.00 million lent through 901 loans since the start (read October 2026; the page carries no date). In 2025, 470 new investors registered, 37 loans were fully repaid, and £1.92 million of capital and £451,000 of interest were paid back to investors.

How it works

Businesses apply and are graded A to E using an Equifax credit score; the grade sets the interest rate. You choose loans yourself or use automatic lending, and receive monthly repayments of capital and interest into your platform account. Loan types include amortising loans, revenue-based loans, interest-only loans, bonds and debentures; the platform itself says interest-only loans carry more risk. The ISA starts from £100 and its calculator shows terms of six months to five years. Borrowers may repay early without a penalty.

Returns

Crowd2Fund advertises 12% to 18% a year, before its fee and before bad debt (October 2026). Its own model says an investor who lent to every loan made in 2025 would earn 11.91% a year after the 1% fee but before any losses (published 22 December 2025). That is not what investors actually earned: no return after bad debt has been published, and the last actual figure, 8.51%, dates from 2018. The ISA example on the statistics page uses a target of 9.84% a year. Investors have earned £8.83 million of interest in total (October 2026). If the 8.68% write-off rate is measured against all money lent, write-offs come to roughly £4.4 million, about half of that interest (calculated from the platform's own figures).

Losses and defaults

Defaults are high and rising. In its yearly outcomes statement for the year to 30 April 2025, required by the UK regulator, Crowd2Fund reported that 12.4% of all money lent (£6.14 million of £49.5 million) was in default. Default means more than 90 days late or the borrower in insolvency (180 days for loans secured on property). That was up from 10.8% a year earlier; it was 10% for fixed loans and 17% for revenue loans, and the platform expected 12.1% for April 2026. Write-offs were 7.4% of money lent. The statistics page now shows 8.68% of loans written off (read October 2026, undated), not counting money paid back to investors later. The same page shows "defaulted loans 5.20%" with no definition or date, which cannot be matched to the 12.4% in the official statement. The statement for the year to April 2026 was due within four months of the year end and had not been published by late October 2026. Independent analysis points to 54 of 113 loans made after a credit-policy change in January 2021 being more than 90 days late or in default by September 2025.

What secures your money

Most loans are backed by personal guarantees from the business owners, and some also by a charge over business assets or over property. There is no buyback, no reserve fund and no insurance. Borrowers are screened with an Equifax score and automated checks, but no valuation process or loan-to-value limit is published. When a borrower stops paying, Crowd2Fund chases the debt through letters, statutory demands, bankruptcy petitions and winding-up orders, which can take years; it publishes no recovery rate. In plain words: about one pound in eight lent has gone into default and close to a tenth has been written off, so the guarantees have not stopped large losses.

Who runs it and its licence

Crowd2Fund Limited (company number 08472687, London) is authorised and regulated by the UK Financial Conduct Authority, firm reference 623683. Your loans are not covered by the Financial Services Compensation Scheme. The company itself is under financial strain. Its audited accounts for the year to 30 April 2025 show a loss of £1.16 million and net liabilities of £2,422,121 (a year earlier: £236,832). The auditor signed them off without qualification but drew attention to a material uncertainty about whether the company can keep going. The company depends on its main shareholder: £2.74 million lent interest-free by a company he controls is to be turned into shares, which the UK Financial Conduct Authority agreed to in April 2026 but which had not been completed, and he has promised in writing to support the company until 30 April 2027. After the year end, £408,000 owed by the founder and a company he controls was written off. Those accounts were filed on 30 April 2026, about three months late. On 14 April 2026 the founder ceased to control the company and a shareholder whose company is its main funder took control; new shares were issued in 2025 and January 2026, and new articles were adopted in May 2026. The founder had stepped down as chief executive in July 2023.

Fees

Investors pay 1% of each repayment of capital and interest as it arrives; the 11.91% model figure is after this fee. Paying in by card or bank transfer is free. Cash waiting in your account earns no interest.

Getting your money out

Your money comes back as borrowers repay, monthly over terms of up to five years, and much later or not at all if a loan defaults. You can try to sell loans on the platform's Exchange at a price you set, but only loans that are repaying on time and graded A to C may be listed, so the loans you would most want to sell cannot be. On 23 August 2026 the Exchange showed no loans for sale. Cash already in your account can be withdrawn to your bank after identity checks.

Our view

Return: High — 11.91% a year in the platform's own model for 2025 loans, after its fee but before bad debt; nothing realised after losses is published. Risk: Very High (higher means more risk) — 8.68% of loans have been written off, which on its own is at the top of our scale, and defaults are rising, the platform's figures are undated and contradict each other, its 2026 outcomes statement is overdue and the operator's auditor has raised doubts about its future, which depends on its main shareholder. Risk-return: Low — a high advertised return that losses have already cut deeply.

Regulation

License / Regulation: Crowd2Fund Limited (company number 08472687, England and Wales) is authorised and regulated by the UK Financial Conduct Authority, firm reference 623683, to run a peer-to-peer lending platform, and offers an Innovative Finance ISA. Loans are not covered by the Financial Services Compensation Scheme.

Functionality

Autoinvest: Yes
Deal rating: No
Secondary market: Yes
Payment provider: Investors' cash is held in a segregated client money account under the FCA's client money rules; the bank is not named. Borrower repayments are collected by direct debit through GoCardless.

For Investors

Limitations: Aimed at UK residents. The Innovative Finance ISA requires UK tax residency and a National Insurance number. Rules for investors outside the UK are not published.
Pricing:
  • Investor fee: 1% of each capital and interest repayment received
  • Minimum investment: 100 GBP

    Useful Information

    Is Crowd2Fund regulated?

    Yes. Crowd2Fund Limited is authorised and regulated by the UK Financial Conduct Authority (firm reference 623683) and offers an Innovative Finance ISA. Your loans are not covered by the Financial Services Compensation Scheme.

    Who holds my money?

    Cash waiting in your account is kept in a segregated client money account under the FCA's client money rules; the bank is not named. Once lent, your money is with the borrowing businesses, and their repayments are collected by direct debit through GoCardless.

    What is the minimum investment?

    £100 to open or fund the Innovative Finance ISA. The platform does not state a minimum per loan on its public pages.

    What returns, and what losses so far?

    The platform advertises 12% to 18% a year before fees and bad debt, and its own model for 2025 loans gives 11.91% after fees but before losses. No return after losses is published. 12.4% of all money lent was in default in April 2025, and 8.68% of loans have been written off (October 2026).

    What secures my investment?

    Most loans are backed by personal guarantees from the business owners, some also by a charge over business assets or property. There is no buyback, reserve fund or insurance, and no recovery rate is published. With 12.4% of money lent in default, the guarantees have not prevented large losses.

    Can I sell my loans early?

    Only in theory. The Exchange lets you list loans at your own price, but only loans repaying on time and graded A to C qualify, and it showed no loans for sale on 23 August 2026. Otherwise you wait for borrowers to repay, over terms of up to five years.

    What fees do I pay?

    1% of each repayment of capital and interest. Paying in by card or bank transfer is free. Cash left in your account earns nothing.

    What happens if Crowd2Fund or a borrower fails?

    If a borrower fails, Crowd2Fund chases the debt through the courts, which can take years, and part of the money may be lost. If the platform fails, its own risk warning says it may be impossible to collect on your loans, and it publishes no backup arrangement for running the loans in that case.

    Is Crowd2Fund in financial difficulty?

    Its audited accounts to 30 April 2025 showed a loss of £1.16 million, net liabilities of £2,422,121 and an auditor's note of material uncertainty about its future; they were filed about three months late, on 30 April 2026. It relies on its main shareholder, who took control on 14 April 2026: £2.74 million his company lent is to be converted into shares (agreed by the regulator in April 2026, not yet completed), and he has promised support until 30 April 2027.

    Rating

    Total Rating 0
    No rating yet No rating yet No rating yet No rating yet No rating yet
    Offering quality 0
    Services and support 0
    Functionality 0
    Transparency 0

    Reviews

    Sort by:
    Most recent Oldest first More likes More dislikes
    Sort by rating:
    Highest to lowest Lowest to highest

    Alternative to Crowd2Fund

    3circlefunding CH

    SME loans Private Loans Business Invoices
    Min. Investment €1000

    Ablrate GB

    Real Estate SME loans
    Min. Investment €100
    Total Funded €81.43M

    Acredius CH

    SME loans
    Min. Investment €200

    Anaxago FR

    Real Estate Startups SME loans
    Regulated
    Return Level Medium
    Risk Level High
    Risk Return Level
    Min. Investment €1000
    Total Funded €940.1M

    bettervest GmbH DE

    SME loans Renewable energy
    Return Level Very High
    Risk Level Very High
    Risk Return Level
    Min. Investment €50
    Total Funded €30.0M

    Bolero Crowdfunding BE

    SME loans
    Regulated
    Return Level Low
    Risk Level High
    Risk Return Level
    Min. Investment €100
    Total Funded €53.0M