SegoFinance - Risk and return review
SegoFinance - Returns and loss rates
Investment maturity
SegoFinance – Platform statistics 2026
45000
investors
SegoFinance – Pros & Cons
About SegoFinance
SEGOFINANCE is a Madrid investment group, founded on the SociosInversores equity platform of 2011, that now runs five lines under one brand: invoice finance (SEGO Factoring — by far the biggest, about 80% of recent flow), startup investing (SEGO Venture), property loans (SEGO Real Estate), film finance (SEGO Creative) and a robo-advisor (SEGO Funds).
More than 45,000 registered users have channelled a claimed 350 million euros plus since 2011.
The core product works like this: from 50 euros you buy a slice of an invoice owed to a Spanish business by a ministry, public body or company, and are repaid when the debtor pays — typically 30 to 180 days, averaging around 70. Some invoices carry credit insurance on the principal; returns average a stated 7.2% a year before SEGO's 20% cut of profits, which turns roughly 6.5% gross into 5.2% in hand.
The critical fact the branding obscures: only the venture arm holds the CNMV crowdfunding licence (number 7, April 2023). The factoring line — where most retail money goes — is, in its own distributor's words, neither an investment firm nor a credit institution, and is supervised by no one; investors there have no regulator to complain to and no compensation scheme.
The group publishes no default, loss or recovery figures for any line, and its own website's statistics, fee and legal pages cannot even be read without JavaScript. Money sits in payment-provider wallets; withdrawals are free, but there is no secondary market on anything.
Regulation
License / Regulation: ECSPR PSFP (CNMV) for the venture line only | Licence 7
Functionality
For Investors
SegoFinance - Articles
Useful Information
One fee dominates: 20% of your profit, VAT included, charged when an invoice collects — there are no account, entry or withdrawal fees, and withdrawals are free from 1 euro. The effect is visible in SEGO's own distributor numbers: 6.5% gross becomes 5.2% net on insured invoices, 9.5% becomes 7.5% on public-administration ones. The asymmetry deserves notice: the platform shares your gains but not your losses. Optional 19% Spanish withholding can be applied at source. The property-loan line advertises zero investor fees; costs on the venture line are simply not disclosed — assume nothing.
Only on the startup line. The licence belongs to SociosInversores 2010 S.L. and covers venture.segofinance.com; the factoring line — where most retail money goes — sits outside it, with no investor protections, no CNMV complaints route and no compensation fund. Because one brand covers everything, investors routinely assume otherwise. Also useful: there is no secondary market on any line, so factoring liquidity is simply the invoice maturing; auto-invest exists but users report it often fails to fill for weeks.
Founder and chief executive Javier Villaseca Sanchez has run the business since 2011 and is sole administrator of the licensed entity; Sergio Valcarcel is operations chief, with Eduardo Sanchez Morrondo chairing the holding company's board alongside an independent director. Named heads run operations for the invoice and venture lines. The group's accounts are audited by Auren, appointed August 2024. Two things could not be established from public records: the identity of the company that actually contracts the factoring operations, and a team page naming the wider staff; the picture here is reconstructed from company filings.
Yes — an escalating record through 2025 and 2026, though no regulator action or fraud case. The Rankia forum thread (26 pages) documents: ministry invoices more than six months overdue and Tragsa invoices weeks past maturity; defaults including insured paper — one investor has had over 3,000 euros stuck for years after a debtor vanished; a 4,317 euro withdrawal blocked for six weeks over a payment-provider account error; new registrations broken by a failed ID-check system from July 2026; and phones going unanswered. By mid-August 2026 investors were coordinating formal complaints by registered legal letter. A long-time reviewer publicly quit the platform, writing in capitals that he had stopped investing because invoices were in default. No Trustpilot score is available; a small Spanish aggregator shows 2.5 of 5 from four reviews. Set against this: no CNMV sanction or warning, audited accounts, and the regulated venture line in good standing.
Three mechanisms, each with limits. Credit insurance, where taken, covers the principal only — not your interest — excludes fraud, war and disasters, and pays on a three-month contractual timetable; investors have nonetheless reported insured invoices in default. Debtor selection leans on public administrations, which are solvent but slow: the documented failure mode is a 70-day invoice stretching past six months. Finally, litigation — at least one operation from September 2024 was still in court a year later. Whether the business that sold the invoice must buy it back if the debtor fails is not stated anywhere public — a material unanswered question. No recovery statistics exist.
SEGO Venture is the licensed, original business with genuine successes — PLD Space raised a 180 million euro round after 10 million retail euros went in through SEGO's vehicle, and four to five portfolio companies have listed on BME Growth. But its track record is presented entirely through winners: nothing is published on how many of the 160-plus funded startups failed, and gains on paper are not money in pockets. And its own totals — 150 million euros in one account, 40 million in another — disagree by a factor of nearly four.
For invoices, the credit decision is about the debtor — the ministry or company that owes the money — not the business selling it. Operations fall into three buckets, priced differently: public administrations, insured private debtors, and uninsured private debtors, with each invoice scored 1 to 10 (10 safest). There is live monitoring: investors have seen named debtors downgraded mid-operation. What is not published: the scoring method, rejection rates, or whether invoices are verified with the debtor before listing — and at 190-200 operations a week the process is clearly automated, not case-by-case. For the startup arm, no selection criteria are published at all; deals are structured through a special-purpose company per startup.