Crowdfunding platform

Crowdfunding Platform - Loanpad review

No rating yet No rating yet No rating yet No rating yet No rating yet
0
Leave review
Loanpad review: UK P2P property lending at 4.8-5.8%, a 56% LTV ceiling, partner first-loss cushion, zero investor losses since 2018 - and the catches.

Loanpad - Risk and return review

Return Level
Low
The 6.5% is what the Premium account actually paid throughout 2024, per Loanpad's own published outcomes statement - its best recent year, delivered exactly on target with zero losses. Rates have since tracked the Bank of England downwards: through 2025 Premium stepped from 6.5% to 6.0%, and the current targets are 5.8% for Premium and 4.8% for the daily-access Classic. Loanpad has hit its target in every published period, and because there are no investor fees and no losses to date, the advertised rate is what people have actually received, before tax.
Risk Return Level
Good
You give up roughly four percentage points against riskier UK property platforms, and in exchange someone else contractually stands in front of you for the first fifth to two-fifths of every loss, on loans held to at most 56% of property value. Eight years of zero losses suggest the bargain has been worth it, and the leading UK P2P research service rates it the best-managed risk in the sector. For you to lose capital, a property would need to sell for barely half its valuation and the partner's slice be exhausted - or a lending partner itself fail, the one scenario never yet tested.
Risk Return Level
Very Bad
A higher rating is worse; Loanpad earns our best. It publishes what most platforms hide: yearly statements of expected versus actual defaults with a clear definition (180 days overdue), showing zero capital losses to any investor since 2018, nine bad debts in over 1,000 loans and five full recoveries. Investors never hold more than 56% of a property's value, a partner absorbs the first 20-43% of any loss, security is a first legal charge, and the FCA authorises the firm. The honest caveats: the lending partners are unnamed, and 2025 saw defaults appear in loan categories forecast at zero - absorbed, as designed, by the buffers.

Loanpad - Returns and loss rates

Returns
Fixed interest: 6.50% The 6.5% is what the Premium account actually paid across all of calendar 2024, exactly matching its target, per Loanpad's published outcomes statement - before tax, after fees (there are none) and after losses (there were none). The daily-access Classic paid 5.5% that year. It excludes the effect of daily compounding, which would nudge it up, and it is a year now past: current targets are 5.8% and 4.8%.
Loss Rates
Risk costs: 0.00% The zero is real and checkable: Loanpad's FCA-mandated outcomes statement says no capital losses have been incurred by any lender on anything it has arranged since 2018, as at 31 December 2025. Default is defined - more than 180 days past due, or serious breach - and both defaults and recoveries are reported yearly: nine bad debts in over 1,000 loans, five fully recovered. What it leaves out: any losses the unnamed lending partners may have absorbed in their junior slices, which are not disclosed.

Investment maturity

Platform offering investments from 3 months till 24 months.

Loanpad – Platform statistics 2026

Information updated at: 17 Sep 2026
Number of investors 5301 investors
1000 projects funded
163.3M EUR funded amount

Loanpad – Pros & Cons

PROS
Genuinely investor-friendly mechanics: open from 1p, no investor fees, interest paid daily, automatic spreading across the whole loan book, and flexible IFISA versions of both accounts.
Rated "Exceptional 3/3" with a 3/10 risk score by research service 4thWay - the best it awards any UK P2P platform.
The company has been profitable every month since July 2021, met all withdrawals through the COVID crunch when peers froze, and client cash is ring-fenced at Barclays.
A structural safety cushion most rivals lack: investors hold at most 56% of property value while lending partners take the junior 20% minimum - in practice about 43% of the 240 million pound live book at May 2026.
Zero capital losses to any investor since launch in 2018, evidenced in FCA-mandated outcomes statements: nine bad debts in over 1,000 loans, five recovered in full, none costing lenders a penny.
CONS
Daily access is conditional, not guaranteed: withdrawals depend on platform liquidity, the terms allow a request to sit in the queue for up to 24 months, and money in a suspended loan is locked indefinitely.
Returns are modest - 4.8-5.8% now, briefly below risk-free savings rates in recent periods - and the rate has been cut steadily since early 2025.
The 2025 outcomes statement shows forecasting misses: development loans at 40-56% of property value were expected to default at 0% and actually defaulted at 22.49% (no investor lost capital, but the forecasts were wrong).
No FSCS protection applies to invested money, and the risk envelope has quietly widened over the years: the investor share limit rose from 50% to 56-60% of property value and the minimum partner slice fell from 25% to 20%.
The lending partners who absorb first losses are never named or counted, their vetting is undisclosed, and what happens if one fails has - in 4thWay's words - not properly been tested.

About Loanpad

Loanpad is a UK peer-to-peer platform, FCA-authorised (FRN 741576) and an HMRC-approved ISA manager, that puts a deliberately cautious twist on property lending. You do not pick loans: your money is spread daily across the platform's entire book of short-term UK property loans - bridging and development, all secured by a first legal charge - and you only ever hold the safest slice.

Loanpad's investors never hold more than 56% of each property's value, while an established lending partner funds the rest and takes all losses first; in practice that junior cushion was about 43% of the 240 million pound live book in May 2026.

The price of that protection is yield: the Classic account with daily access targets 4.8% and the Premium account with 60 days' notice 5.8%, roughly half what riskier UK property platforms advertise, with interest paid daily.

Since launching in 2018 no investor has lost a penny; only nine loans in over a thousand have ever gone bad, and five recovered in full. Accounts open from 1p, both are available as flexible Innovative Finance ISAs, and there are no investor fees.

The 4thWay research service awards Loanpad the best risk score it gives any UK P2P platform.

Understand two limits: withdrawals depend on platform liquidity - the terms allow up to 24 months in the queue, and Loanpad itself says not to treat it like an easy-access bank account - and there is no FSCS protection on invested money, which sits ring-fenced at Barclays only while uninvested.

Regulation

License / Regulation: FCA authorised P2P operator; HMRC ISA manager | Licence 741576 |

Functionality

Autoinvest: Yes
Deal rating: Yes
Secondary market: No
Payment provider: Barclays Bank UK plc

For Investors

Limitations: Loanpad is primarily open to individuals aged 18 or over who are permanent UK residents, although some non-UK residents may be accepted if they have a UK bank account and contact support. US citizens, US permanent residents, people born in the US, and US dual nationals are excluded. UK companies, LLPs, trusts, SIPPs and SSASs may also invest, subject to UK establishment and banking requirements. Before investing, users must complete investor categorisation and an appropriateness assessment, with Restricted Investors generally subject to the FCA rule limiting P2P investments to 10% of net investible assets over 12 months.
Minimum investment: 1 GBP

Useful Information

Negative publicity or reviews on Loanpad

Remarkably little. No regulatory action, no capital loss, no withdrawal freeze and no critical press coverage was found in eight years - the only FCA notice mentioning Loanpad is a 2022 warning about a fraudulent clone site impersonating it, which protects rather than blames the firm. Trustpilot shows 4.9 out of 5 from 805 reviews, with fewer than 1% at one or two stars (reported second-hand, as Trustpilot blocked direct access). The recurring grumbles on investor forums are about price, not conduct: rate cuts tracking the Bank of England - Premium fell from 6.5% to 5.8% over 2025-26 - and the observation that cash savings briefly paid nearly as much; one 2023 poster noted unallocated cash reserves looking thin, and others have queried wind-down terms that favour group affiliates. The 2025 outcomes statement is the substantive blemish: two loan categories defaulted where zero was forecast, at 22.49% in one - absorbed by the buffers, but a real forecasting miss.

Is my money safe if Loanpad fails?

Cash is ring-fenced at Barclays and returnable; the loans' security is held by a separate trustee company, so charges survive the operator; and Loanpad keeps segregated wind-down funds in cash. There is no FSCS cover on invested money and the platform says so plainly. Can I really withdraw daily? Usually, historically - Classic withdrawals typically process within a business day - but it is not guaranteed: requests queue first-come-first-served against available liquidity, up to 24 months under the terms, and Loanpad's own FAQ says not to treat it as an easy-access bank account. Cards are not accepted; funding is by bank transfer only.

Project selection process on Loanpad

Loanpad does not originate loans; it reviews every application together with its lending partners - established specialist property lenders - with in-house surveyors and lawyers validating the property value and security before money is drawn. Eligible lending is bridging, refurbishment, development and business loans on property in England and Wales, running 3-24 months, at up to 75% of property value to the borrower, always with a first legal charge. The binding filter is structural: Loanpad's investors can never hold more than 56% of the property's value, forcing the partner to fund the rest and take losses first. Every loan is then slotted into a nine-category risk grid that Loanpad must report against annually. Who the partners are, and how they are vetted, is not disclosed.

Team behind the platform on Loanpad

Loanpad lists a team of 15, led by founder and CEO Louis Schwartz, with Neil Maurice as COO and CFO, Jamie Robinson as CTO and Alexander Blakesley as chief investment officer. The group is sensibly compartmentalised across five UK companies - the operator, a holding company, a security trustee that holds the legal charges for investors, an interest-cover vehicle and a finance entity. The one criticism the leading research service makes is thin prior track record: the CEO had two years' relevant experience before founding Loanpad in 2015 (launch 2018). The company is small - net assets of 3.4 million pounds - profitable since mid-2021, and has paid its first dividend.

Risk management after funding on Loanpad

Loans are serviced day-to-day by the lending partner under Loanpad's oversight and reclassified daily; deteriorating loans are suspended, so new money stops flowing into them. Default means 180 days past due or serious breach. Recovery runs from restructuring through property sale to enforcing the first legal charge, held by a separate trustee company. On enforcement, proceeds repay investors' capital before the lending partner gets anything back - that ordering is the whole model. Any shortfall is shared across all investors, not dumped on whoever held the loan. A discretionary Interest Cover Fund can keep daily interest flowing during recoveries, but never covers capital and promises nothing. So far: zero investor losses.

Costs for investors on Loanpad

There are none - no account, management, deposit or withdrawal fees; borrowers pay Loanpad's charges. Three small exceptions: Premium investors wanting to skip the 60-day notice pay up to 0.5% (only when that early-exit facility is offered at all); a fourth withdrawal in one calendar month incurs the bank's transfer fee, the first three being free; and an invalid ISA can incur a repair fee. ISA transfers in and out are free from Loanpad's side. The real cost is structural: about four percentage points of yield given up against riskier property platforms, which is the price of the junior cushion beneath you.

Rating

Total Rating 0
No rating yet No rating yet No rating yet No rating yet No rating yet
Offering quality 0
Services and support 0
Functionality 0
Transparency 0

Reviews

Sort by:
Most recent Oldest first More likes More dislikes
Sort by rating:
Highest to lowest Lowest to highest

Alternative to Loanpad

Ablrate GB

Real Estate SME loans
Min. Investment €100
Total Funded €76.79M

Anaxago FR

Real Estate Startups SME loans
Regulated
Return Level Medium
Risk Level High
Risk Return Level
Min. Investment €1000
Total Funded €939.0M

Bergfurst DE

Real Estate
Min. Investment €10
Total Funded €192.29M

Blend Network GB

Real Estate
Min. Investment €1000
Total Funded €57.01M

Bricksave GB

Real Estate
Min. Investment €1000

Brickstarter EE

Real Estate
Min. Investment €50